Hello Monday // I got friends…at the LIBRARY

Twice I year I head to a warehouse in town for an event called The Friends of the Library, a bi-annual book sale of over 500,000 books. Most of them cost less than 75 cents and thousands of people attend.

Check what I grabbed this past weekend:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The follow mantra was instilled in me as a young teenager as I desired for growth: LEADERS are READERS. It has never left me and because of that small statement, I love books…period.

Go on be a geek. Start reading. 

When Caley and I first got married we didn’t have a lot of room in our budget for books. Over the years I have collected quite a few, so my ultimate goal is to have a massive library then donate it to a young pastor who has the same desire to grow as I did when I first started serving.

If you want to make this Monday awesome, make the decision to read a chapter in a book you know you need to pick up, maybe one that you’ve been dreading to read. Spend a few minutes catching up on some blogs or surfing Amazon for that next buy.

If you need somewhere to start Shane Snow recently posted on Tim Ferris’ blog, the author of the 4 Hour Work Week ( a book on my wish-list), and shared 14 pictures of the bookshelves of some leaders, creatives, and CEO’s he admires.

We’re all a product to some degree of the books we read, the programs we watch, and the people we meet. – Shane Snow 

Here were some of the books I found laying on more than one leader’s shelf and some of my personal favorites that were also found in the post…

Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others DieHardcover – Chip Heath

Makers: The New Industrial Revolution Hardcover – Chris Anderson

Any book written by Seth Godin (I recommend Tribes to every one. You gotta read it. )

START. – Jon Acuff (One of my top 5 books of all time…period)

Extra Resources:
Best Leadership Books of all time by Inc. Magazine

100 Books Every Entrepreneur Should Read by Sujan Patel

If you could recommend one book to someone to read what would it be?

Leave a Reply

