Book Review: The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook: Slaying the Living Dead Within by Jeff Kinley

I just finished readying The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook: Slaying the Living Dead Within by Jeff Kinley. A great read that combines theology with the current zombie craze that is so popular right now in our culture by movies and shows like Zombie Land, Resident Evil, and Walking Dead. I enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to anyone looking for an interesting read. The lay out and the concept is pure genius. The entire concept is Biblical, as well as entertaining.

The book is written like it’s two books in one. Every other chapter is like an episode of Walking Dead, allowing the other chapters to be theology based around the idea that our sin is like a zombie inside if us dying to be released

Honestly I couldn’t wait to get to the end and see what happened. I couldn’t put it down. But with that- I only have one negative thing to say, and if you plan on reading it stop here!

 

Spoiler alert. DO NOT KEEP READING.

 

The only negative statement about the book… the end was horrible. Every episode about the characters encounter with zombies was exciting and intense. The theology was right and soul stretching. As you read you can’t wait till the end.

And the end, I regretfully have to say was a let down. It could have had a better and more complex ending. It could have been more intense. It could have ended a thousand different ways.

It was horrible.

It was like a horrible ending to a great movie.

Other than that it was awesome and I recommend it to anyone who is into the Zombie craze and loves Jesus.

One thought on “Book Review: The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook: Slaying the Living Dead Within by Jeff Kinley

  1. Jay,

    Thanks for your very insightful review of my book. I wrote in part bc I knew that awesome youth pastors like yourself would connect with the hard core theology they desire their students to embrace. God is really using this unique work to change lives, and I am so grateful. And glad my publisher kept all the brains and gore in it ha. And I totally get your point about the ending. I actually had several potential endings, but as an author I intentionally decided to create frustration and tension for the reader at the end (like a cliffhanger season-ending episode of your fav TV series). One reason for this is that I fully intend to pick up the story in a follow-up book. So the story hopefully isn’t over! 🙂

    Anyway, thanks again. It’s guys like you who are making THE difference in this generation. Keep it up! In the meantime, I’m doing a bunch of Zombie Killer-themed Weekends for churches across the country. I’d love to partner with you sometime to help your students grow in maturity and slay the beast within! Check it out on my website for more details.

    Grace!
    Jeff
    http://www.mainthingministries.com

Leave a Reply

